Housing Choice Voucher

Waiting list is closed.

The Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) Program (HCV) subsidizes low-income families rental obligations, which allows the family to rent homes outside of traditional Public Housing. Families will pay 30% – 40% of their adjusted gross income directly to the landlord. The Ocala Housing Authority (OHA) serves the entire Marion County area. The participating family decides the type and location of the unit they which to rent. The subsidized portion of the rent is based on the fair market guidelines.

The waiting list opens periodically due to the popularity of the program, and the limited numbers of vouchers available. Waiting list applications are accepted only when the list is open. The existing list must be exhausted before the list is open. Advertisement is placed in the local newspaper and mailed to local social service agencies and churches, inviting those who believe they are eligible to apply. A notice will also be place on this web site.

In addition to the HCV program, OHA also administers Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH), which is rental assistance for homeless veterans with case management and clinical services provided by the Department of Veterans Affair at its medical centers and in the community.

Housing Choice Voucher Department

Name Ext Title and/or Caseload
Lyndia Wilson (lwilson@ocalahousing.org) 226 Voucher Progams Director
Dale Berrian (dberrian@ocalahousing.org) 203 Counselor I, (D, G, M, F)
Elsie Bailey (ebailey@ocalahousing.org) 222 Counselor II, (I, N, P, S, T, Z), Spanish Translator
Luis Garcia (lgarcia@ocalahousing.org) 240 Inspector Coordinator, (A-L)
Marcus Kiner (mkiner@ocalahousing.org) 232 Senior Inspector, (M-Z)
Shaneka Greene (sgreene@ocalahousing.org) 239 Voucher Programs Coordinator, (A, W, O, V, X), Enhanced Vouchers, and Portability, and VASH
Stephanie Reynolds (sreynolds@ocalahousing.org) 224 Counselor II/Family Self-Sufficiency Coordinator, (C, L, R, Q, U), HCV FSS
Theresia Douglas (tdouglas@ocalahousing.org) 229 Counselor II, (B, E, H, J, Y)

Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

A federal law that went into effect in 2006 protects individuals who are victims of domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking. The name of the law is the Violence Against Women Act, or “VAWA.” The following notices explain your obligation under VAWA.

VAWA Information for Landlords

VAWA Information for Tenants/Applicants