Housing Choice Voucher

The Ocala Housing Authority is an Equal Opportunity Employer, Fair Housing

The Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) Program (HCV) subsidizes low-income families rental obligations, which allows the family to rent homes outside of traditional Public Housing. Families will pay 30% – 40% of their adjusted gross income directly to the landlord. The Ocala Housing Authority (OHA) serves the entire Marion County area. The participating family decides the type and location of the unit they which to rent. The subsidized portion of the rent is based on the fair market guidelines.

The waiting list opens periodically due to the popularity of the program, and the limited numbers of vouchers available. Waiting list applications are accepted only when the list is open. The existing list must be exhausted before the list is open. Advertisement is placed in the local newspaper and mailed to local social service agencies and churches, inviting those who believe they are eligible to apply. A notice will also be place on this web site.

In addition to the HCV program, OHA also administers Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH), which is rental assistance for homeless veterans with case management and clinical services provided by the Department of Veterans Affair at its medical centers and in the community.

Portability

Thinking about porting to the Ocala Housing Authority? Please click here for portability information.

HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER (HCV)
Name Email Title and/or Caseload Ext Direct #
LYNDIA WILSON lwilson@ocalahousing.org VOUCHER PROGRAMS DIRECTOR 226 (352) 620-3378
Brenda Nelson bnelson@ocalahousing.org Counselor I: Annual Re-Certifications (M-Z) 222 (352) 620-3325
Mildred Butler mbutler@ocalahousing.org Counselor I: Waiting List Intake, Income Adjustments (A-Z) 203 (352) 369-2361
Luis Garcia lgarcia@ocalahousing.org Inspector Coordinator (se habla español) 240 (352) 620-3665
Marcus Kiner mkiner@ocalahousing.org Senior Inspector 232 (352) 620-3452
Shaneka Greene sgreene@ocalahousing.org Voucher Programs Coordinator: Enhanced Vouchers, Portability, Certify to Move, Waiting List Issues Vouchers (Varies) (A-L), and VASH 239 (352) 620-3644
Stephanie Reynolds sreynolds@ocalahousing.org Counselor II: Certify to move, Port In & Out, Waiting List Issued Voucher (Varies) (M-Z) 224 (352) 620-3366
Theresia Curbeam tdouglas@ocalahousing.org Counselor II: Annual Re-Certifications (A-L) 229 (352) 620-3406

 

Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

A federal law that went into effect in 2006 protects individuals who are victims of domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking. The name of the law is the Violence Against Women Act, or “VAWA.” The following notices explain your obligation under VAWA.

VAWA Information for Landlords

VAWA Information for Tenants/Applicants