Housing Choice Voucher

Waiting list is currently closed

The Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) Program (HCV) subsidizes low-income families’ rental obligations, which allows the family to rent homes outside of traditional Public Housing. Families will pay 30% – 40% of their adjusted gross income directly to the landlord. The Ocala Housing Authority (OHA) serves the entire Marion County area. The participating family decides the type and location of the unit they which to rent. The subsidized portion of the rent is based on the fair market guidelines.

The waiting list opens periodically due to the popularity of the program, and the limited numbers of vouchers available. Waiting list applications are accepted on when the list is open. The existing list must be exhausted before the list is open. Advertisement is placed in the local newspaper and mailed to local social service agencies and churches, inviting those who believe they are eligible to apply. A notice will also be place on this web site.

In addition to the HCV program, OHA also administers Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing (VASH), which is rental assistance for homeless veterans with case management and clinical services provided by the Department of Veterans Affair at its medical centers and in the community.

Housing Choice Voucher Department

Name Ext Title and/or Caseload
Dalephine Berrian (dberrian@ocalahousing.org) 203 (D,G,L,M,Q,U)
Elsie Bailey (ebailey@ocalahousing.org) 222 (F,I,N,P,S,T,Z), Spanish
Jason Cruz (jcruz@ocalahousing.org) 227 (A,C,R,W)
Luis Garcia (lgarcia@ocalahousing.org) 240 Inspector Coordinator, (A-L)
Lyndia Wilson (lwilson@ocalahousing.org) 226 Voucher Progams Director
Marcus Kiner (mkiner@ocalahousing.org) 232 Inspector II, (M-Z)
Shaneka Greene (sgreene@ocalahousing.org) 239 (V,O,X), VASH, Portability
Stephanie Reynolds (sreynolds@ocalahousing.org) 224 Family Self-Sufficiency Program
Theresia Douglas (tdouglas@ocalahousing.org) 229 (B,H,E,K,J,Y)